Going Very Vegan – ‘What was all that about?’

Veganism – the diet of the over particular and permanently hungry. This appears to be the general consensus when people think of what it means to be a vegan. To be honest it was one of my main concerns too, but luckily I managed to eat more than just leaves and peppermint tea over the course of the month!

I decided to live as a vegan as part of a university project to see what impact it would have on my health and attitudes towards foods. However, I did not anticipate how much of an impact it would have.

By the end of the month I found myself reading the labels on everything, questioning the sources and really considering the impact of what I was eating would have on the environment. It had moved from being a dietary experiment to a deliberate lifestyle decision.

I looked at various websites and blogs for useful recipes and advice and one in particular stood out:  http://www.thedailymeal.com/10-tips-going-vegan?page=0,0. One of the main points was not to beat yourself up if you make a mistake and eat something which isn’t vegan friendly. I really wish I’d have heeded this more, as I think because I was so consumed with the idea of being a purist vegan, that when I messed up it was almost like I had forgotten the point and was just competing with myself (which just sounds ridiculous).

I do eat meat occasionally, but now only buy it from the local butchers, who I know and trust to source it responsibly. I have cut dairy from my diet and actually enjoy rice milk in my tea and soya milk in my lattes. I feel happier, healthier and think that this was definitely a positive lifestyle choice.

Leave a Reply

