“You’re a what?”

People’s Reactions

What I found most interesting about this experience was other people’s reactions. It was as if by saying that I was a vegan I had automatically offended everyone within arms reach. I had not just changed my eating habits but I was making some big statement, looking down at everyone who ate cheese or just being petty and irritating. the point I think they were making was that to follow such a restrictive diet needed more reason behind it.

In some ways they’re right. If you know what you are doing is for a cause you strongly believe in then it is much easier to continue doing it. What came from heated discussions about my decision to go vegan was that I researched ‘why’ more thoroughly so that I would know where I stood and be able to defend my reasoning.

Leave a Reply

